Western Australia is home to four public universities and one private university that offer qualifications which are recognised around the world. Each university has its own admission requirements. To find out more information and/or enrol in a course, please contact the university of your choice.

Each university has academic partnerships with leading Australian and international research centres, and with other academic institutions.

The main university campuses are located in the Perth area, but some universities have campuses in other parts of Western Australia and overseas.


Western Australian universities offer undergraduate and postgraduate courses in traditional and emerging areas of study. University qualifications include:

  • Undergraduate
  • Bachelor
  • Bachelor with Honours
  • Postgraduate
  • Graduate Certificate/Diploma
  • Masters Degree
  • Doctoral Degree.

Academic year

The academic year in Western Australia consists of two semesters. It begins in February and ends in November, with study breaks and semester breaks during the year.


University facilities are different on every campus but usually include:

  • library and computing facilities
  • research facilities
  • sport and recreational facilities
  • student support services
  • cafes, shops and pharmacies
  • medical facilities
  • student accommodation
  • information on university admission.
Last modified: 19/03/2014 4:15 PM